NBA Easter Eggs – Three I Found In The Baskets

Things I found while watching the NBA Playoffs so far over this Easter Weekend 2011…

1. Khloe Kardashian has as of this writing 2,887,496 followers on Twitter.  This came up early during the ESPN broadcast of the Lakers’ Game 3 win over the Hornets when it was mentioned she had tweeted earlier in the day her man Lamar Odom wasn’t feeling 100%…“My baby hurt himself today…Please pray for him and send him positive vibes for his game tonight!  He needs the prayers and energy!.  I admittedly don’t follow Khloe (yet…but I will if she and her followers follow me…I have 24 so far and would love the company).  Later on Twitter, Khloe apparently took the mention of Odom not feeling great somehow negative because she tweeted, “Ha! I caused “Laker Hysteria” because of my tweet for well wishes to Lam…I guess even when I send positive energy I get criticized.”  Khloe, when you tell almost 3 million people the NBA’s Sixth Man Of The Year might be under the weather prior to a critical Playoff game somebody is bound to get worked up.  You did nothing wrong…and neither did Lamar and the Lake Show.  All is good in LA being up 2-1 now…and Chris Paul and NOLA will be fighting for their playoff lives later on tonight.  If you have any more inside dish as to what’s going down with the Lakers it’s @sportsattitudes.  Keep being positive and ignore the haters.  With that many followers, you can’t be doing a thing wrong.

2. The Pacers won their Game 4 at home yesterday against the Bulls, but a third of the crowd seemed to not only be adorned in Chicago regalia but were actively cheering for the visitors.  I don’t recall a post-season NBA game where I heard so much rooting for the out-of-towners.  I know Chicago and Indianapolis aren’t that far apart, but how did those Bulls fans get into Conseco Fieldhouse?  You don’t think the Indiana “faithful” sold their tix or…when push comes to shove…are Chicago fans in hiding?  And speaking of push comes to shove, thank you Indiana Pacers for starting the thought process throughout the league the NBA in NBA Playoffs stands for – when in the lane – No Baskets Allowed.  Derrick Rose looked like a pinata being battered about while the series was in Indy and it’s about time.  Nobody wants to hear what comes after “back in my day”…but back in my day those who drove the paint wore the paint.  One reason why Rose is going from Most Valuable Player to Most Valuable Pacer is because Indiana decided to take away those relentless drives of his to the basket.  I like seeing up-and-down, high-scoring basketball… but I don’t like seeing people getting an E-ZPass to two.  And…

3. As for letting guys lay it up without harm, a tip of my cap to the Boston Celtics.  In their Game 2 escape I had mentioned in a prior post my disappointment Glen Davis and Kevin Garnett waved on through Jared Jeffries to a basket close to game’s end.  I felt at the time Boston was quite lucky to have headed to NYC up 2-0 and the potential was there for an early exit from these Playoffs down the road.  However, what I didn’t count on was the Knicks deciding they had enough already.  New York’s Game 3 loss was a combination of Boston coming in mean (finally) and the Knicks playing lean.  Chauncey Billups showed the most sense of any Knick by staying in his suit.  The knee wasn’t good enough to go, but he had to know his teammates were already gone.  If they didn’t win Game 2 after Carmelo Anthony’s stellar performance…and they already knew he was sidelined with his injury and Amar’e Stoudemire would be playing like he should have a suit on also…well, they flat out came with 100% less heart than their rabid, win-starved fans did.  That being said, the Celtics were very, very aggressive and looked like they wanted to erase any doubt at all New York might have had that the series was already in Boston’s pocket.  Those relic Celtics might have some fire left in them after all.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside Philadelphia PA. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen US states (most just one time each) and Canada (twice). 50-plus years - married 30-plus years. Love massive quantities of sports, television and movies (viewed in a movie theater).
This entry was posted in NBA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NBA Easter Eggs – Three I Found In The Baskets

  1. I’m looking for a nice intense game out of the Knicks and Celtics for game 4. I expected this series to push a bit more, but they have been tight games. Check it out, would like to know what you think
    http://nbaswish.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. “Kiwi”…thanks for stopping by and I already went to your blog and checked it out. Good stuff! Let’s see if the Knicks want to win one for the City, if not themselves.

    Like

  3. Troy says:

    Khloe Kardashian — reason #57 why being a Lakers fan is difficult. Guilt by association…

    Like

    • Troy…I hope Khloe will update us on Kobe Bryant’s situation today…that injury last night and being 2-2 now looks like positive vibes are needed…as well as applicable first aid to Bryant and more aggressiveness at both ends of the floor by all Lakers.

      Like

  4. berger987 says:

    “…but back in my day those who drove the paint wore the paint.”

    hahahahaha

    Like

Your Thoughts?

