Things Go Better With Coke…Except In The NHL

I like Coke.  I don’t like Pepsi.  I consider them to be two very distinct tastes on my palate.  Things go better with Coke.

According to Philadelphia Daily News reporter Tom Mahon, Boston Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara was told by the National Hockey League he can’t drink Coke while on the bench during games…something he did on television during the recent Game 7 his Bruins won against Montreal.

Apparently, Chara even got a memo telling him that was a no-no.

Zdeno later said he usually doesn’t even drink Coke but for once a month.  “Sugar and a little caffeine.  I felt like I needed some sugar and something bubbly.  I asked for a Coke.”

I don’t know if the memo said Chara would have been fine if he was seen chugging a Pepsi…or for that matter, a Molson Beer.  I do know if I was in that league I’d be drinking Coke any ol’ time I wanted to and if Pepsi or the NHL had a problem with it we could drop the gloves and go.  Can you believe in a sport where assaulting each other is sometimes enforced as a “minor” penalty they make a “major” deal on enforcing soda brand consumption? 

No Coke?  That’s a lame misconduct.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside Philadelphia PA. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen US states (most just one time each) and Canada (twice). 50-plus years - married 30-plus years. Love massive quantities of sports, television and movies (viewed in a movie theater).
This entry was posted in NHL and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things Go Better With Coke…Except In The NHL

  1. What a great story! Reminds me of how Marcin Gortat, the only Polish player in the NBA, was asked by Reebok to cover a tattoo of Michael Jordan. Did Chara smile when he took a drink? Thanks for unearthing an interesting story!

    Keep doing great things … and let me know how I can help.

    Like

  2. Sean, thanks for the comment. I forgot about the tattoo story – thanks for unearthing that! Keep doing great things as well…and will advise!

    Like

  3. FireDannyAinge says:

    Ridiculous. I guess I get it if Pepsi is a sponsor but regardless Chara can drink what he wants.

    Apparently the NHL has no life much like MLB complaining that Francona wore a sweatshirt that wasn’t MLB approved last year. Lame

    Like

  4. Pammy Girl says:

    Let me quote to you the famous SNL skit with Belushi, Ackroyd and Murray:

    “No Coke. PEPSI!”

    I feel very sad for you. Coke. Sheesh.

    Like

  5. Oh, soda war is so on…

    Like

Your Thoughts?

