Dallas Mavericks In NBA Playoffs In Case You Didn’t Know

Maybe because of Mark Cuban.  Maybe because of past Playoff history.  Maybe because folks hate Dallas because of the Cowboys.  I don’t know.

This just in.  The Dallas Mavericks are in the NBA Playoffs.  I know this must be a shock since you haven’t been told.

Oh, maybe you might have heard the team mentioned once or twice in the last few days, sprinkled into the conversation about woe is me/what is wrong with the Los Angeles Lakers.  Trust issues, too many shots, not playing hard enough…

I am exhausted of hearing only about that other team in LA (besides the Clippers) so for the purposes of this post their name will no longer be mentioned.  This is offered as a public service to those who also may be weary of hearing only about how that other team in LA is doing.

Most everyone picked the Mavs to lose their opening round matchup with Portland, even sitting as the higher seed.  And, when they had a historic collapse in Portland letting the Blazers come back from 18 down lots of the same folks said…”see, I told you.”

However, a funny thing happened on the way to another predicted, premature post-season exit by Dallas.  They finished off Portland…and now are at home sitting two up versus that other team in LA.

That other team in LA and Dallas both finished with the same regular season record.  They practically averaged the same number of points per game and allowed.  Their home and away records were similar.

Dallas is in the NBA Playoffs.  Really they are.  Honest.  And quite possibly, that other team in LA won’t be for much longer.  If that comes to pass, maybe then you’ll hear something about the Dallas Mavericks…but probably not for at least a few days afterwards.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside Philadelphia PA. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen US states (most just one time each) and Canada (twice). 50-plus years - married 30-plus years. Love massive quantities of sports, television and movies (viewed in a movie theater).
This entry was posted in NBA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dallas Mavericks In NBA Playoffs In Case You Didn’t Know

  1. FireDannyAinge says:

    Not A Mavericks fan but I LOVE Tyson Chandler. I also love Zack Randolph from his Portland days and I hate the Grizzlies. I also hate the Celtics so that leaves me the Bulls, Heat (who I also hate) and the Hawks who I don’t like. Damn I hate a lot of people. Damn those Lakers for forgetting how to play. Damn the Knicks for being a bunch of wimps and not taking out the evil Celtics in the first round so I could care less what is going on in baseball.

    It always killed me how Zack could average a double double every season (before and after the all star break) and never make an All Star team. That kid is amazing. I am thrilled for his success in the playoffs I just wish it was anywhere but Memphis.

    By the way all the teams I hate have Celtics connections and that is why I hate them:)

    This sounds like a great idea for a blog. That reminds me it is almost time to relase my Dear Miami Heat letter.

    last but not least

    COME ON BRUINS!!

    Like

  2. FireDannyAinge says:

    I guess I should hate the Bulls too but by association if they win it makes AInge look stupid for not keeping the coach of the year instead of useless Doc Rivers. Oh and Brian Scalabrine being in the NBA is a joke. NBA white guy quota.

    Like

Your Thoughts?

