Pointing To New Moon Over Miami – Game One To Heat

I have conducted an independent study of three unrelated calendars and they all say June 1st, 2011 finds the Moon in a New phase.

In the mind that is mine, I will thereby treat Game 2 of the NBA Finals as my personal Game 1.  All the excitement, the pageantry, the thrills of the Finals yet to come.  New.  One of the finest regular seasons ever, one of the most watched regular seasons ever…coming down to two very worthy teams.  Even though this might cost me money with NY Jets Linebacker Bart Scott…”CAN’T WAIT!”…for Game 2.  New.

Trying to reset myself to looking forward to Game 2 with my Game 1 anticipation is required  because unless you were a die-hard Mavericks or Heat fan…last night’s scheduled Game 1 did not look or feel like an NBA Finals Game 1.

Maybe my negativity for last night’s game started with Michael McDonald singing the National Anthem.  I saw him (with his Doobie Brothers mates) in concert…in the year 1976 A.D.  What, was Frankie Valli and/or The 4 Seasons not available?  America’s got talent…current talent.  Get someone hot.  Like one of those talking basketballs on the NBA commercials.  One of them could have rolled up to the mike and belted it out.  Now you’ve got some sizzle.

Maybe it was the crowd.  I don’t know if ABC had any microphones at all positioned in their direction, but early on there was no audible audience.  Thought the fans were requested to observe a moment of silence which was subsequently, accidentally…playing in a loop due to an error in the broadcast truck.

Maybe it was great defense causing a lack of offense.  Maybe the offense just stunk.

Couple of ESPN tweeters agreed with my assessment.  Pat Forde shot a comment out indicating it looked like Butler-UConn with a 24 second shot clock.  Rachel Nichols had flashbacks to viewing the gruesome Pistons-Spurs action from a few years back.  First half was ugly basketball and television for a lot of us.

The Miami Heat went on to win the real Game 1 of the NBA Finals 92-84.  Neither team shot or played well.  The second half went down a bit better for me than the first…perhaps because my remote was by that point “cut and pasting” the game into a Seinfeld episode.  Game 1 just wasn’t what we hoped for in terms of entertainment value.

Worse yet, after the game Dirk Nowitzki chose to reveal he has a torn tendon in his non-shooting hand.  Dirk, you never tell anyone you are hurt.  Ever.  In the NHL, if someone starts missing practice or skipping workouts and the media won’t leave you alone about it, the MOST you give them is an “upper” or “lower” body injury.  Period.  Keep ’em guessing.

You have a reputation for being a “European Player” as it is.  The American translation for that is soft.  So what do you do?  You tell the enemy exactly what to bang on each and every possession for the rest of the series…but didn’t you also give yourself a lovely excuse to fall back on if things don’t go well?  Soft.

And readers, if you think you are going to have it rough the next few days imagine the poor bastard working for ABC who now has to train his camera on Dirk’s digit non-stop for the balance of these NBA Finals.

How long the NBA Finals last looks like it will be up to Miami’s Big Three.  I did love how energized Chris Bosh looked last night, especially early on.  He was aggressive, battling deep inside the paint right from the opening tip.

I still think something is wrong with Dwyane Wade.  Maybe I am concentrating on him too much but his decisions with the ball and some of his mannerisms make me feel he’s hurting.  At the end of the night, he always seems to have made enough plays…but still…

(Note to Dirk: We don’t know for sure about Wade and THAT’S how you handle injuries at this level – man up and keep ’em guessing)

LeBron James is not Michael Jordan.  He is LeBron James, and that in itself may eventually be all we need to entertain us the rest of this series.  He continues to take matters into his own hands when needed at both ends of the court.  We are watching one of the all-time greats for sure, no matter what you think of  “The Decision.”

And back to my viewing displeasure of the first half…proving it wasn’t just me and a few other folks wondering about the lack of pizzaz.  The ABC broadcast team chose to discuss the relevancy of James’ “Decision” halfway through the second quarter…of the first game of the NBA Finals.  Are you kidding me?  That was evidence enough a lot of us were wondering hey, where did our Finals go?  The announcers were looking for things to talk about other than the “action” on the floor in the second period of Game 1.  Wow.

I’m hitting my internal reset button and giving this series a new go of it Thursday eve.  Gonna put last night in the rear view mirror.  A new focus.

I just hope ABC’s focus isn’t pointing solely…at a finger.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in NBA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pointing To New Moon Over Miami – Game One To Heat

  1. toosoxy says:

    Miami’s doing well?! Oh, I wish I cared enough to bandwagon. If I were less busy, I would totally jump on the fan van. It must be a fun place…
    My family is coming up from Miami tomorrow for a wedding in NC. That must be killing them. No wonder they asked if I had cable…

    Like

  2. Brandyn says:

    Your Michael McDonald comment cracked me up. I am one of his biggest fans! Sad but true. But you’re right–if the Four Tops are anywhere out there that’s who you get.

    I like LeBron, and I think this is his time to get a ring. But not even his mama should think that he is anywhere near Michael Jordan. Those words should never be uttered.

    Like

  3. Mike Mc had his day…as did I…many days ago. I was waiting for Beyonce, Jay Z, Will Smith, Jada Pinkett…somebody other than…Mike Mc. How about the Four Tops AND The Four Seasons? Scottie’s comments about Mike and LeBron…let’s chalk it up to temporary heat stroke. And thank you for stopping by!

    Like

  4. FireDannyAinge says:

    I was just about to say it. Dirk now has an excuse when he chokes away this gift the NBA wants him to have.

    Like

Your Thoughts?

