Red Sox-Phillies…’Nuff Said

The visitors…Boston Red Sox…45-32.  The home team…Philadelphia Phillies…49-30.

Headlines in the Philadelphia papers today included…“The Boys Of October?”/”World Series Preview”/”Phils-Red Sox: Baseball’s Best”

The Philadelphia Daily News’ Ed Barkowitz even has a “Tale of the Tape” preview…who he feels has the advantage at each position going into the three-game set.

Anything that sweeps the Dodgers filing for bankruptcy, Wimbledon and Women’s World Cup Soccer all off the sports landscape in one pass works for me.  I can attest to the fact the City of Brotherly Love is alive with excitement about these games…

…but while my position is in NO WAY reflected by what you’ll read here about Boston fans (courtesy of one Philly scribe)…I would be less than honest in not noting its existence since I know Beantown faithful visit this site.

You have to admit…peering out over the horizon of what we’ve seen so far this baseball season you have to figure both teams have a really, really good shot at representing their respective leagues in the Fall Classic.

For now, we’ll hope the next three days…in Philadelphia…in late June…will be classic.

(and in case you were wondering…the Philly Phanatic is back in action after this unfortunate incident a few days back…if he’s ready…Philly’s ready!)

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside Philadelphia PA. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen US states (most just one time each) and Canada (twice). 50-plus years - married 30-plus years. Love massive quantities of sports, television and movies (viewed in a movie theater).
This entry was posted in MLB and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Red Sox-Phillies…’Nuff Said

  1. FireDannyAinge says:

    As one of those Boston fans. We over-react. Then we get calm, Then we over react again.

    Seems to me the last time someone came to visit us they took 2 out of 3 AT Fenway and we swept them in the world series. I think that also happened when ST Louis came to town. Swept them too. See a pattern???

    I read that article by that Philly-idiot and all I have to say is hypocrisy and cocky shit head attitudes didn’t work for the Canucks and it won’t work for Philly. Articles like that are written to start world war 3. That fat head bandwagon fan doesn’t take the field.

    I fully admit AT THIS TIME, The Philadelphia Phillies are a better team. I would even say much better team. That being said we didn’t have Papi. We don’t have Clay or Dice. We don’t have Jed. We don’t have our full line up or pitching staff so at this time a game is just a game.

    I was watching last nights game with my 4 year old niece and I showed her the Philly Fanatic. She asked me what it was. I told her it’s their mascot like Wally is our mascot and my brilliant niece says to me “I know but what is it”? I rest my case.:)

    Like

  2. FDA…I simply could not NOT put that article out there bashing Boston fans after all the love Beantown bloggers have shown me. That writer is usually a good read but that article was mean-spirited and served no purpose other than to…be mean. Hell, WE don’t know what the Phanatic is supposed to be either but we LOVE HIM….um, IT.

    Like

  3. toosoxy says:

    Philly Fanatic? That’s what that is? I did not and do not understand. Phanatic? I am highly uneducated on the ways of the sandwiches. I need to further study their culture.

    Like

  4. The Phantic is from the Galapagos Islands. He is 300 pounds of pure fat, fun, and joy. He is the greatest Mascot in all of sports!!! To truly understand what makes the Phantic so awesome, you have to see him live and in action. And I am very happy to hear that the Phantic has recovered form his injuries at the Iron Pigs game!!!

    As for Phillies Red Sox, it’s only one 3 game series in a long season. Granted, I am thrilled we took 2 out of 3 (not so happy about Cole getting hit on the hand today) but it’s still a long season and a lot could happen. I’m not usually a fan of Gonzo and I thought his article was way out of line. So many Philadelphians complain (and rightfully so) about people who criticize us as fans and bitch about outside media people who generalize all Philadelphia fans due to the actions of a handful of idiots (if I have to hear about booing Santa Claus one time, I will kill someone.) So why would Gonzo then go and do the same thing? When are people going to understand that all fans act the same basic way in their cities and when it comes to their respective sports teams. Who cares if Boston fans want to crow about their championships (but seriously guys, could you start sharing the wealth!) You know if Philly started winning that many times, we would act the same way. So pipe down Gonzo!

    Like

  5. FTLOTV, there was some “balance” offered in the Philly Inquirer as the series was ending…Daniel Rubin did a column pointing out he saw no on-site animosity between Red Sox and Phillies fans because we’re both long-suffering and have a lot more in common…and mutual enemies to root against (i.e. the Yankees). He moved here from Mass. and surely would disagree with what Gonzo wrote. That was just a piece of hate.

    Like

Your Thoughts?

