Dancing With The Schools – Reality Series Of College Conferences

You know the saying “you can’t tell the players without a program?”  Get yourself used to checking in late summertime from here on out to not only learn who the dance teams are on ABC’s “Dancing With The Stars”…but which dance partners your beloved alma mater or favorite school has signed on with.

The best, no-nonsense quote I’ve seen yet on all this money-grabbin’ nonsense is from Beth Hudson of the Reading (PA) Eagle:

“A year ago, I was scouring college football message boards deep into the night, trying to figure out what would happen next in the power conference game of musical chairs.  It’s not because I care so much about conference realignment, it’s that I care about my alma mater, the University of Missouri.  I did a lot of reading – and even more worrying – for nothing.  We’re unlikely to learn anything useful from random posts on Internet forums.  Yet the reading itself can become addictive because, well, you just never know. 

But I’m over it.

Sure, I have opinions about what would be best for my school – or, let’s be honest, the athletic programs.  I care about football and basketball and, to a lesser extent, the other sports.  I’m a traditionalist, so real rivalries – not contrived ones – mean everything.  I prefer conferences that make sense geographically.

Oh, and I’m long past the point where I believe any conference occupies the moral high ground.  Scandals are an unsavory part of big-time athletics.  No conference is immune.  Mostly though, I’m tired of being concerned about something that’s so far beyond my control.

I promise to get geared up for the big “rivalry” game…just let me know who the rival’s going to be.”

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in College Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dancing With The Schools – Reality Series Of College Conferences

  1. JW says:

    This is from the Dubsism archives – it outlines the only sensible way to re-align college football conferences…

    http://dubsism.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/re-conferencing-college-football-the-dubsism-approach/

    Like

Your Thoughts?

