The Only Super Bowl LI Post You’ll Ever Need To Read – Volume Three

Am I a narcissist just by having a blog?

Or…perhaps just an egocentric?

Off to Ye Olde Internet for definition and clarification…

A person who is egocentric apparently believes they are the center of attention…just like a narcissist…but they don’t get gratification from their own admiration.

Heck, I don’t think I’m the center of anyone’s attention…outside of my wife when she’s trying desperately to get my attention.

What passes for news media these days certainly has no issue utilizing these two words…narcissist and egocentric. They started to make the rounds more often when social media exploded. I don’t think they really got their freak on until the run-up to electing a new President.

One can indicate pretty quickly they’re pretty much into themselves just by opening their mouth.

Or just opening up their smart phone channel in the case of one not-so-smart Antonio Brown. Wide Receiver. Pittsburgh Steelers.

Look, it’s pretty much a pre-requisite star NFL wide receivers are egocentrics. Being a narcissist is optional. That in part is what makes them great on the gridiron.

But it’s truly impossible to know precisely what is in someone’s head and heart.

And, if you judge someone you too shall be judged by the same measure.

So while I continue to contemplate off-line whether or not I qualify to be a narcissist – or at minimum an egocentric – it would be logical of me to tread lightly on-line regarding what Brown chose to do after his Steelers escaped Kansas City with an 18-16 victory Sunday night to advance to the AFC Championship Game.

However…his decision to roll Facebook Live amongst the scene in the Steelers locker room while Head Coach Mike Tomlin was busy employing motivational cursing and ironically enough…asking his team to keep a low profile…lifts us up to a whole new level of egotistical narcissism. Or with less judgement applied, a whole new level of “me.” (Even for Brown…who has a career of “me” moments)

It wasn’t anything seen or heard that was embarrassing. Far from it. What we’d expect in a fired-up locker room after an emotional game.

For me, it was just embarrassing Brown just could not live in the moment without having to broadcast the moment.

Hell, he wasn’t even paying attention to the moment.

To Tomlin’s credit he didn’t try to downplay being “covered” by Brown without his or his team’s knowledge:

“It was foolish of him to do that. It was selfish of him to do that. It was inconsiderate for him to do that.”

And that’s thatstreaming on now to our Championship Weekend (again, rematches from earlier in the year).

Green Bay at Atlanta – The Packers lost in Atlanta on Week 8 by 33-32. Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan threw an 11-yard TD pass to Mohamed Sanu with 31 seconds left to conclude a wild display of offensive firepower. Last week I suggested whomever had the ball last in Green Bay’s game at Dallas would win. There’s simply no reason to not express the same feeling this week…the last team with the ball in this game wins. Both offensive lines are very impressive. Atlanta’s is the only one in the NFL that started every regular season game together. The Packers’ o-line hasn’t been quite as lucky in the health department but is still stout. The Falcons have a very balanced offense. Green Bay – not so much. We know quarterback Aaron Rodgers is going to drop back, roll out and fire downfield on almost all of their possessions. It’s Aaron’s world and we all just live in it right now. It remains to be seen if Rodgers will have favorite weapon Jordy Nelson. Ryan’s top target, Julio Jones, is nursing injuries of his own but he’s in no danger of missing the game like Nelson may be. Rodgers and Ryan have both been playing at a MVP-pace and certainly elevate the play of those around them. Neither team habitually turns the ball over. Watch for turnovers to have critical implications because neither defense is going to be able to muster many stops. Atlanta has given up 28 or more points NINE times this season. Green Bay’s defense features players who were out of jobs when the season began. In 2011 the Packers won the Super Bowl after emerging as a #6 seed from the NFC. Green Bay got to the NFC Championship Game that season by going into Atlanta’s Georgia Dome and burying the Falcons 48-21. Aaron Rodgers was nearly perfect in that contest. The Georgia Dome will be seeing its last NFL contest ever Sunday. Atlanta won’t want to see Rodgers ever again after this weekend. WINNER – GREEN BAY

Pittsburgh at New England – The Patriots won in Pittsburgh on Week 7 by 27-16. The Steelers did not have quarterback Ben Roethlisberger and New England was able to key in on running back Le’Veon Bell. Pittsburgh’s defense had issues with Patriots running back LeGarrette Blount who managed 127 yards and 2 TD’s. The Patriots now have a healthy Dion Lewis – he wasn’t around for the first meeting. Lewis just became the first player in NFL history with a touchdown rushing, receiving and kick returning in the win against Houston last weekend. Speaking of those Texans they did get to quarterback Tom Brady and disrupted the New England offense but, a) Blount was ill and, b) the Texans have a nasty defense. Blount should be good-to-go and the Steelers defense is so not Houston’s. Roethlisberger and Brady will obviously be asked to win the game should the defenses make it difficult to run. I think both teams will actually be able to run. But Brady should be better able to exploit the Pittsburgh defense. In six games against HC Mike Tomlin’s Steelers…Brady is 5-1. 19 TD’s. 2 INT’s. Last weekend Pittsburgh repeatedly could not get the ball into the Kansas City end zone and settled for field goals. That won’t get it done here. (Comment for NFL Commish Roger Goodell, who has not been to a Patriots home game in a couple of years now since Deflategate and reportedly will be in Georgia this weekend instead of Massachusetts: You screwed up yet again Roger. Could have gone to this game and taken the air out of the pressure built up about you continually avoiding the Patriots. Good luck with that in a couple of weeks. Really now, do you think the world revolves around you?) WINNER – NEW ENGLAND

Enjoy.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside Philadelphia PA. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen US states (most just one time each) and Canada (twice). 50-plus years - married 30-plus years. Love massive quantities of sports, television and movies (viewed in a movie theater).
This entry was posted in Football, NFL, Pro Football, Pro Sports, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Only Super Bowl LI Post You’ll Ever Need To Read – Volume Three

  1. Laura says:

    I am probably old-fashioned, OK, I am proud to be old-fashioned – I think there needs to be professional manners/values on sports teams and that means no social media etc during team time. Remember no I in team 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Meg Sorick says:

    Kids these days… Lol! It’s typical of his generation to do something like that. I watch some of my younger friends post their entire lives on Instagram and Facebook. I swear their kids are going to grow up thinking they need a camera crew around to document their every move. I read an article about how people are actually missing out on experiences because they’re spending so much time trying to photodocument the experience instead of just enjoying it! Anyway, Brown… sigh.

    I am with you on your picks for this weekend. I don’t think my Steelers stand a chance and the Packers are on fire! And actually I wouldn’t want to see a Packers Steelers rematch anyway! What was that like 5 years ago? I think SB #7 doesn’t happen this year. I really wish it wasn’t such a spectacle.

    Liked by 3 people

    • It seems to me there is way more concern about capturing things than experiencing them. All the world is NOT a stage. I can’t agree more on the missing out on things. The reasons why I gave up Twitter years back is because I realized I was watching my feed and thinking up tweets about games instead of WATCHING games. I am very interested in seeing what Pitt tries to do on defense this time around against Brady. That GB-ATL game…the only way either offense should be stopped is if they stop themselves!

      Like

  3. garym6059 says:

    I guess the millenial motto of “me first” even applies to stud receivers. Oh to be a fly on the wall for that colossal ass chewing!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh yeah, I believe Tomlin is truly hissed. His comments to the media earlier in the week seemed to open the door for Brown to be shown the door. That’s a very big leap from dressing him down in public however. Still, it’s always wise to buy low and sell high!

      Like

  4. wiersema1 says:

    Love your article. I agree with your predictions for the most part but I’ll be picking both Atlanta and New England to win on their home fields. Of course, I’m a Bears fan and hate the Packers, especially because my wife is a Green Bay fan and gets to enjoy her team in the Playoffs seemingly every year. Oh brother!

    As for the locker room incident, I believe cell phones are illegal in all locker rooms. Somebody should charge Antonio Brown with a misdemeanor!

    Thanks for the Super Bowl series. I’m enjoying it. Reid

    Liked by 1 person

    • Reid, thanks for commenting…and the kindness towards the SB posts. I enjoyed your post on March Madness memories. Sorry about those Bears. I do think they’re going to make some big changes this off-season which will hopefully provide hope. They have a few pieces to work with already.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I should be less surprised than I am that Goodell hasn’t been to Foxboro since Deflategate. Just suck it up and go.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bun Karyudo says:

    Motivational cursing? Reminds me of my last boss.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. aFrankAngle says:

    All four teams are on fire, so it should be an interesting weekend. I’m not a Goodell fan … then again, he’s outstanding compared to the commish I couldn’t stand … and still can’t … Bud Selig.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The revisionist history usually written after someone passes or retires is already at work regarding Bud. Seen a couple of articles where they point out all the good he did for the game. Didn’t see any while he was in office and trashing it.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Belinda O says:

    You’re right, the only Super Bowl post I’ll need to read…or is that feeding your ego too much? Ha ha.Let’s face it, all of us bloggers want attention, or we wouldn’t be making our posts public. But …call that needing human interaction.

    I love the options for teams this year, and since the Vikings were out of the picture sometime back, I’ll pick the underdog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Belinda, I stole that idea from a Christmas album Ellen recently put her name on…The Only Holiday Album You’ll Ever Need – Volume 1. I thought that was a “smart” title in this age of compilations, sequels, franchises, reboots…and especially a zillion re-recordings and takes on the same Christmas songs. The Vikings started off so well…injuries and some internal coaching frustration took them off course but they’ll be back in the hunt next season.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Steph McCoy says:

    What can be said about Brown than what was already said? It’s not surprising when people literally die trying to get that perfect selfie shot. On the issue of football you know how I’m not a sports fan but when I got the alert on my phone after the game I was a little sad to hear that the Steelers lost.

    Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts?

